For the 2022 year, each participating Rotary Club will select a student to receive a $5,000 or $2,500 HRYF scholarship (as noted on the List of Rotary Club Contacts). From those students selected by the Rotary Clubs, an HRYF committee then selects one student attending a mainland university to receive a $10,000 Maurice J. Sullivan scholarship and another student attending a university in Hawaii to receive the $10,000 Joanna L. Sullivan scholarship. These two scholarships will be awarded instead of the $5,000 awarded by the individual Club.
The HRYF and Weinberg Scholarship programs are administered without regard to race, creed, color, age, religion, sex, national origin or physical disability. This award is non-transferable, applied to costs for tuition only and for the first year of school. Funds are mailed directly to the school of choice and cannot be deferred for future use. No student can receive more than one scholarship from the Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation.
Eligibility criteria: 1. Applicant must be a 2023 graduating Hawaii high school senior who will be attending, as a full- time student, an accredited 4-year college or university in Hawaii or on the U.S. Mainland to earn a baccalaureate degree. A full-time student is defined as taking a minimum of twelve (12) credit hours per semester or equivalent. 2. Applicant must be a U.S. citizen and a legal resident of Hawaii prior to submittal of application.
Ineligibility criteria: 1. Anyone receiving a full tuition scholarship from the school. 2. Anyone attending a college or university outside the United States. 3. Anyone entering a U.S. Military Service Academy. 4. Active Rotarians or anyone that has left a Rotary Club within the last calendar year, or their spouse, parent, children, grandchildren, stepchildren, step grandchildren, brother or sister.